Challenging Myself

I was talking with a friend (Hi, Gina!) yesterday who said, “I need to focus on crafting more–I have stamp sets that I haven’t even opened!”  I hope she and I aren’t the only ones.  Do you do the same thing?  I get so excited after Sami’s Stamp Club–purchase whatever she has used and then some–and then it sits on my shelf WAY TOO LONG!

SO, I decided to challenge myself.  I spent the last 4 weeks on the road–and now have at least 3 weeks at home (most likely–unless something comes up!) so have made a “Card a Day” promise to myself.  I am going to make a card for someone everyday–and make a duplicate for my stash.  

Image

 

My first card is for Pam.  Pam works in our Minnesota office and is the one who knows where all the bodies are buried.  She has been with the company more than 25 years and is the most efficient person I have ever known.  However, that is not the best part of Pam.  

When I saw this stamp set, my first thought was of Pam.  She is truly sunshine in my life. Please don’t get me wrong, she is not the cloyingly sweet, never says a mean word, boring, Pollyanna type of person.  She is honest and real and beautifully opinionated.  When I call her (which I do A LOT!) she is cheerful no matter what and is always willing to help me with whatever silly questions I have.  She does everything with a smile on her face–no matter what she may be thinking inside.  

I used the chalkboard technique with embossing and a craft pad–I love the look of the chalkboard stuff.  Obviously, I am behind the chalkboard curve–I sure hope it doesn’t go away any time soon! I struggled with the chevron background.  I tried brayering (is that a word?) onto the embossing folder and just made a mess–so I embossed and then lightly brayered the color on top.  Maybe not professional quality–but, it worked for me! 

SO, this is on its way to Pam–hoping she loves it as much as I loved making it!

Supplies:

  • 129684        Feel Goods Stamp Set
  • 125598        Framelits – Label Collection
  • 127749        Chevron Embossing Folder
  • 129964        Hardware Clips Essentials
  • 125573        Calypso Coral Baker’s Twine
  • 109132        Stampin’ Emboss Powder in White
  • 101731        Whisper White Craft Pad

Paper is Daffodil Delight, Whisper White, Calypso Coral, Basic Black and a small piece from 130814–Epic Day This and That.  

 

2 thoughts on “Challenging Myself

Leave a Reply

